Graduate Studies Committee/Retention and Financial Aid Committee Report 2012-2013

Members: Danielle De Sawal (Chair), Beth Berghoff, Valarie Akerson, Jesse Steinfeldt, Ray Haynes, Martha Nyikos, Thu Suong Thi Nguyen, Kylie Peppler, Luise McCarty, Susan Sloffer, and Katie Cierniak (student member)

Ex-Officio: Robin Hughes, Keith Morran, Elizabeth Boling, and Ghangis Carter

Staff: Avital Deskalo

Meetings: Seven (7) meetings were held during the 2012-2013 academic year

Course Proposals

- G690 new course request approved with minor changes; moved to a doctoral level course
- G650 new course request approved with minor changes; moved to a doctoral level course
- C678 new course request approved with minor changes
- R511 course change request approved with minor changes
- R621 course change request approved with minor changes
- R620 course change request approved with minor changes
- R678 new course request approved with minor changes
- R563 course change request approved with minor changes
- R551 new course request approved
- K631 new course request approved with minor changes
- K632 new course request approved with minor changes
- K633 new course request approved with minor changes
- K634 new course request approved with minor changes
- K635 new course request approved with minor changes
- D505 course change request approved with minor changes
- D506 course change request approved
- D524 course change request approved with minor changes
- D525 new course request approved with minor changes
- D640 new course request approved with minor changes
- D625 course change request approved with minor changes
- G625 new course request approved with minor changes
- G656 new course request approved with minor changes
- J655 matching course request approved with minor changes

Academic Programs/Certificates

Approved Certificate in Institutional Research

Approved the discontinuation of the Master's of Art in Teaching Social Studies

Approved changing the M.S. in Adult Education to M.S.Ed. in Adult Education

Approved Preparing Educators for Autism (PESA) Certificate Program

Approved LCLE major name change

Approved the minor in Educational Law

Approved the Graduate Certificate in Educational Law

Approved Advising sheets for MS in Elementary Education and Secondary Education with a Focus on Technology

Approved proposal for doctoral minor in Adult Education

Approved a revised program of study for the M.S.Ed. in Adult Education

Approved transcript notation request documenting internship for doctoral graduates in Counseling Psychology and School Psychology (this approval does not go to Policy Council)

Approved major changes to the Ed.D., Ed.S., and Superintendent Licensure in Educational Leadership at IUB

Approved major changes to the Counseling Psychology Ph.D. Program

New Policy Creation

No new policies were approved

Additional Items

Changes to Leave for Graduate Students (LGS): Changes were made to the LGS documents to align with practice within the School of Education and the institution.

Approved Graduate Program Review Process: Guidelines outlining the review of graduate programs that are not currently covered by an accreditation review were approved by the committee. The process for implementation and monitoring of these program reviews will be decided by the Executive Associate Dean and the Dean for Graduate Studies.

The committee has expressed concerns about the Dean's Fellowship and would like to invite the Dean of the School of Education to a fall meeting of the committee to discuss the award. The concerns center around the potential pool of candidates and establishing some structures to assist departments "get to yes" with candidates who have been offered the fellowship.

<u>Awards</u>

The Graduate Studies Committee/Retention and Financial Aid Committee is responsible for the distribution of the Beechler, Dissertation of the Year for the School of Education, and the Dean's Fellowship. Sub-committees of the GSC/RAFA committee were established to review and select the 2012-2013 recipients.

Beechler recipients: Seolim Kwon (IST), Nicole Beeman-Cadwallader (C&I), Jake Hardesty (ELPS), Andrea Robledo (ELPS), and Zejun Zhou (ELPS),

Dissertation of the Year recipient: Katie Bucher (ELPS)

Dean's Fellowship Award: At the time of this report two of the awards have been officially declined and two other offers have not been officially accepted.

No Old Business remains on the agenda.

Respectfully submitted,

Danielle DeSawal, Chair

April 17, 2013